Lifeguard Course

American Red Cross Lifeguard Certification

Course Description

Provides entry-level participants the knowledge and skills to prevent, recognize and respond to aquatic emergencies and to provide care for breathing and cardiac emergencies, injuries and sudden illnesses until EMS personnel take over. Participants who successfully complete the Lifeguarding course receive an American Red Cross certificate for Lifeguarding/First Aid/CPR/AED, valid for 2 years.

Minimum age of 15 years old. Participants must successfully pass a try out session to enter the course. This is a blended learning course which combines online learning and in-person learning. Once an individual passes the try-out session, they will then complete the 7 hours of required online coursework and attend all in-person skill sessions.

Lifeguard Course Fees

YWCA Members: $200
Non-Members: $250

Lifeguard Re-Certification Course Fees

YWCA Members: $125
Non-Members: $175

Tryout Session

Everyone must complete a try out session to determine whether or not they qualify to participate in the course. If you intend to come to a try out session, please reach out to our Lifeguard Instructor, Mark Rivera, via email at mrivera@ywcagettysburg.org to let him know which try out session you plan on attending.

If a scheduled tryout session does not work with your schedule, you will need to schedule a different day and time to complete your tryout with our instructor.

The lifeguard tryout consists of:

  • A 300-meter swim (front crawl or breaststroke only)
  • Treading water without using your hands for 2 minutes
  • Diving to the bottom of the pool for a 10 pound brick, swimming 15 meters on your back with the brick, and getting out of the pool; all in under 1 minute and 40 seconds

Click here to view a video example of the lifeguard tryout session.

Once you successfully complete the try out, our instructor will send you the required online course work for you to complete. All online coursework needs to be completed prior to the first in-person skill session.

Please contact our Aquatics Director, Mark Rivera, at 717-334-9171 ext. 129 or by email at mrivera@ywcagettysburg.org for more information.

Upcoming Courses & Tryout Dates

Register online by clicking here or call our Aquatics Department at 717-334-9171 ext. 129.

January

Full Lifeguard Course

January 22 & 23

Tryouts: Thursday, January 13 @ 5pm

  • Saturday, January 22, 1 pm – 6 pm
  • Sunday, January 23, 7 am – 6 pm

February

Full Lifeguard Course

February 19 & 20

Tryouts: Monday, February 14 @ 5pm

  • Saturday, February 19, 1 pm – 6 pm
  • Sunday, February 20, 7 am – 6 pm

March

Lifeguard Review Course

March 13

  • Sunday, March 13, 9 am – 6 pm

Full Lifeguard Course

March 19 & 20

Tryouts: Monday, March 14 @ 5pm

  • Saturday, March 19, 10 am – 6 pm
  • Sunday, March 20, 7 am – 7 pm

April

Full Lifeguard Course

April 9 & 10

Tryouts: Monday, April 4 @ 5pm

  • Saturday, April 9, 10 am – 6 pm
  • Sunday, April 10, 7 am – 7 pm

Full Lifeguard Course

April 23 & 24

Tryouts: Monday, April 18 @ 5pm

  • Saturday, April 23, 10 am – 6 pm
  • Sunday, April 24, 7 am – 7 pm

May

Lifeguard Review Course

March 8

  • Sunday, March 8, 9 am – 6 pm

Full Lifeguard Course

May 14 & 15

Tryouts: Monday, May 9 @ 5pm

  • Saturday, May 14, 10 am – 6 pm
  • Sunday, May 15, 7 am – 7 pm

Full Lifeguard Course

May 21 & 22

Tryouts: Monday, May 16 @ 5pm

  • Saturday, May 21, 10 am – 6 pm
  • Sunday, May 22, 7 am – 7 pm

Steps to Successfully Passing the Course

  1. Successfully complete the tryout session.
  2. Register for the course online or with our aquatics department at 717-334-9171 ext. 129.
  3. Complete all online coursework prior to the first in-person session.
  4. Attend all in-person class sessions.
  5. Pass the final rescue skill scenarios and final written exam on the last day of the course.

Cancellation, Refund, Failure & Behavioral Policies

Please click here to view our policies regarding cancellations, refunds, course failure and participant behavior.